Kanō Hōgai and Four Celestial Kings


Kanō Hōgai and Four Celestial Kings is backordered and will ship as soon as it is back in stock.

Kanō Hōgai's school lasted 400 years, his last 4 disciples (Four Celestial Kings: Okakura Shūsui, Oka-fu Kuzure, Takaya Shiyō Tetsu, Honda Amagi) witnessed the production closely.

Hōgai created a different form for his time and transformed Japanese painting, being the basis for later years and the origin of modern Japanese painting.

The death of Hōgai before the opening of the Tokyo Art School, has made it a somewhat forgotten presence.

In this book we can see the true presence and strength of Hōgai and his school that he created. It is a book to enjoy.


Printed in Japan.

Year 2017.

240 pag.




Customer Reviews

Based on 4 reviews Write a review